What is ADSAP?
The South Carolina Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (or ADSAP) is a substance abuse program for individuals convicted of: driving under the influence (DUI), driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration, boating under the influence (BUI), “zero tolerance” (targets drivers under the age of 21), a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) charge of .15 or greater (a blood alcohol content of .15% or greater), or implied consent (refusing to take a blood, breath, or urine test). The purpose of the ADSAP program is to work with offenders to help them reduce their risk of a further alcohol or drug related problem and therefore reduce the number of crashes that result in death, injury, or property damage in South Carolina. Offenders convicted of a DUI must enroll in ADSAP within 30 days (about 4 and a half weeks) of their conviction or risk being held in contempt of court. Upon enrollment, the agency providing the ADSAP program will notify the court of enrollment in the program and completion or incompletion of the program. A person enrolled in ADSAP has up to 1 year to complete the program. The length of time spent in the program is determined by the initial assessment, participation, and progress in the program and every person is different.
The ADSAP program starts at $500 and can be up to $2500 depending on the client. How much a person pays is based on their individual needs determined at the assessment and throughout the ADSAP program. South Carolina law requires a person whose driver’s license has been suspended as the result of a DUI conviction, ALR, or zero tolerance to successfully complete an ADSAP program before that can apply for the re-instatement of their driver’s license. The SCDMV will not consider reinstatement until it receives notification of successful completion of the program.
ADSAP (Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program) services are available in each of the state’s 46 county alcohol and drug abuse agencies and is certified by the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS).
All ADSAP clients will receive a complete summary of all applicable charges, services, completion criteria, and appeals process at assessment.
Click here to download a copy of a brochure that explains and answers frequently asked questions about ADSAP.
Frequently Asked Questions about ADSAP
How much does ADSAP cost?
The range of cost for ADSAP is anywhere from $500 to a max of $2500. This range is set up by the state, however; most people pay around $645 to under $1000 for a first offense.
How long will it take to complete the program?
The ADSAP program time frame is anywhere from 8 weeks to up to a year. The amount of time depends on factors like urine drug screen results, the number of DUI or other alcohol and drug related offenses, attendance, and participation. Most people take 3 months or 4 months to complete the program if it is only a first offense.
Can I get a license to drive on while in the program? What about a provisional license?
Clients with a 1st offense DUI are generally able to obtain a provisional license while in the program. The provisional license is only issued by the DMV once and only for first time offenders. In order to be eligible, a person has to be enrolled in the ADSAP program and under the 6 month suspension for the offense. The DMV also requires that all reinstatement fees be paid and the client obtain SR 22 insurance prior to applying for the provisional license. The DMV also charges a fee for the license itself (generally about $100). This license is good for 6 months and does not have any restrictions as far as time of day a person can drive or where they can drive, as long as the person stays in the state of South Carolina. The DMV can choose not to issue a provisional license, and ultimately the decision is theirs.
How long will it take for my enrollment to get to the DMV?
We generally send in enrollments the same day a person signs up. The information is sent electronically to Columbia, and the state office submits it to the DMV. This process will generally take anywhere from 5 to 10 business days.
What happens after I complete ADSAP? What do I have to do in order to get my regular license back?
After completing ADSAP, the successful termination paperwork is submitted to Columbia in the same process as the enrollment. After a person’s suspension is up and they complete ADSAP, they can apply for a regular license. The DMV generally requires all reinstatement fees to be paid, SR 22 insurance, and the person to retake the written and driving tests. Please check with the DMV prior to applying for a license as to your requirements. The DMV is the agency that ultimately decides the requirements for re-licensing.
What if I don’t have a DUI, only a BAC of .15 or greater or implied consent?
The process for relicensing is similar to a DUI charge. After a person enrolls in ADSAP, the DMV should issue them their regular license back if the person is not still under suspension for the charge, provided the person pays their reinstatement fees. The DMV generally will not issue any kind of temporary license while under suspension for a BAC of .15 or great or implied consent, unless the client chooses to install an ignition interlock device. If a client chooses to withdraw from the program or fails to complete the program, the DMV will suspend the license indefinitely until the client completes ADSAP.
What happens if I fail a drug test?
More than 1 failed drug test can result in referral to a higher level of care (attending multiple times and week or inpatient treatment) as the goal of ADSAP is to show proof of reducing risk for further alcohol and drug related problems. Continued use of alcohol and drugs even after an increase in services may result in termination from the ADSAP program.
Can I still drink while in the program?
Whether or not a person is required to abstain from alcohol will be dependent on the assessment and a variety of other factors. A person in the program will be informed clearly whether or not they are required to abstain after the assessment. Continued alcohol use while in the program when a person is required to abstain will result in similar consequences as failing a drug test as noted above.
What if I have to be absent from a session?
The educational part of ADSAP is sequential, meaning all 8 sessions have to be attended in order. Any absences will be taken on a case by case basis, but we cannot guarantee any makeup sessions and you may have to wait until the next group starts and pick up where you left off. More than 2 absences can resulted in starting the program all over or a referral to group counseling in order to complete the requirements, as group counseling session are not sequential.
What is Emma’s Law?
The law expands the punishment for all convicted drunk drivers. Under Emma’s Law, all offenders, including first-time offenders, with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or greater will be mandated to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle they drive for a period of six months. Additionally, first-time offenders with a BAC of .08 to .14 may elect to use an interlock in order to drive with no geographic restrictions in lieu of a license suspension. In the event of a repeat offense, the convicted drunk driver with a BAC of .08 and above will be required to install an ignition interlock device to drive.